Maharashtra government extends family court jurisdiction to 23 villages newly merged under PMC

Citing an extension of the boundaries of the Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC), the state government extended the jurisdiction of the Pune Family Court by extending it to the 23 villages newly merged under PMC.

In a government notification, the State Legal and Judicial Department said: “In the exercise of powers conferred by the Family Courts Act and the State Government in consultation with the Bombay High Court extends the judicial jurisdiction of the Pune Family Court to the extent of 23 villages newly included in PMC for the purpose of exercising jurisdiction and powers conferred by law.

In accordance with the notification, the state government conferred jurisdiction on the Pune Family Court comprising the PMC area and the cantonment areas of Pune and Khadki.

The state government, by its notification on June 30 of this year, included 23 villages under PMC. These villages include Mahalunge, Sus, Bavdhan Budruk, Kirkatwadi, Pisoli, Kondhve-Dhavade, Kopare, Nanded, Khadakwasla, Manjri Budruk, Narhe, Holkarwadi, Autade-Handewadi, Wadachi Wadi, Shewalewadi, Nandoshi, Kambarwadadi et al. Wagholi.

According to the 2011 census, the population in PMC areas is 35 56,824, but the actual population is much larger than in 2011. The 2021 census has been delayed due to a pandemic. The city’s population is estimated to be over 50 lakh due to rapid urbanization.

The state government has also extended the jurisdiction of the Pune Police Station to include the newly merged areas of the city. It also plans to create new police stations in the recently included areas.

Comments are closed.